Symptoms

• Hi there, I understand our symptoms can vary with CFS. Just wondering how many of you experience persistent palpitations and what your Dr.s have said/explained about it? Thanks 🌷

• @New2CFS Interesting question. I get palpitations on a regular basis, but I’ve never had a medical check regarding them. 🤔

• Hi there,
    I get palpitations when I have been upright too long. I presume because my blood pressure is falling (orthostatic intolerance) and my heart is beating fast to try and get some blood to my brain.

Realising this and managing it better means it (pretty well) doesn't happen any more, so fingers crossed yours is as easily managed. Best of luck.

• Thanks for the replies. Anyone also get Raynaud’s/chilblains. My toe went black/purple this afternoon. I’m new to cfs and I’m finding the symptoms disconcerting to say the least. Vertigo too. 😔

• Community Moderator

@New2CFS ME/CFS can involve all sorts of symptoms, but if you find your symptoms aren't common in/consistent with the core diagnostic guidelines ( https://www.emerge.org.au/diagnosis ) it might be an idea to make sure there's nothing else going on as well. Sadly, having ME/CFS doesn't stop us getting other things (although I hope you don't have anything else).

• I'm not sure what you mean by palpitations but I experience a number of things that could fall into that category:

• Tachycardia
    • Skipped/extra beats (confirmed benign with ECG)
    • Sensation of heart pounding even when heart rate is normal