single and overwhelmed

• Hi everyone

I have only recently been diagnosed and have been lucky to only have relatively mild symptoms. I went from 4-6 hours sleep a night, 50+ hour weeks at school, 50+km running, and trying to fix my dodgy house. Now I get 10-12 hours sleep, trying to manage 40 hours at work and nothing else. I am a high school teacher so there is very little options in flexibility other than losing days which also means losing pay. As a single woman with a mortgage that is horribly frightening. Most days I get to school, fake it through the day, then crash when I get home but I feel that I am still putting too much strain on my body. Has anyone else dealt with the NSW Department of Education? Any advice?

Thanks

• Community Moderator

Welcome to the forum @CPIllawarra and much sympathy for the tough situation you're in. I'm sorry my words today aren't great (not having the best brain day) but wanted to say hello. I'm afraid I can only suggest looking at the 'usual' ME/CFS things (pacing, symptom management, depending on what you think about it maybe trying LDN, Ubiquinol, PEA or some of the other things that seem to help a little).

As well as asking here, if you haven't already the Emerge's infoline and telehealth nurse service (see https://www.emerge.org.au/information-line and https://www.emerge.org.au/telehealth-nurse-service ) are worth contacting - the infoline can be done via email as well.

Also, never doubt the impact of even 'mild' ME/CFS - it's still a very significant challenge and well worthy of sympathy and support.